Palm03

     Welcome

 

     Agenda/Minutes

 

     City Council

 

     City Election

 

     City History

 

     City Officials

 

     Contact Us

 

     Departments

 

     Emergency Preparedness

 

     Flood Information

 

     Helpful Info

 

     Maps

 

     Online Services

 

     Ordinances

 

     Park Board

 

     Recreation

 

 

 

JB Seal
Municipal Court
 
 
This information is being furnished as a courtesy to assist you in disposing of the charge(s) filed against you. Please note that a personal appearance is generally required only if you wish to plea not guilty and appear before the judge. A plea of not guilty should be submitted at least 7 days prior to the due date on your ticket.
Depending upon the offense with which you have been charged, below are some of the options that may be available to you.
Driving Safety Course & Motorcycle Operator Training Course
A defendant charged with a moving violation under state law may be eligible to take a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course, as appropriate, in order to have the ticket dismissed and not appear on the permanent driving record. You may qualify to take a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course to dismiss one violation on your ticket if you:
  • have a valid Texas driver's license;
  • have proof of insurance that was in effect on the violation date;
  • have not taken a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course for ticket dismissal purposes within the preceding 12 month period; and
  • do not hold a commercial driver's license.
Not all offenses under the Texas Transportation Code are subject to dismissal upon completion of a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course. Examples are:
  • Speeding 25 mph or more over the speed limit
  • Passing a school bus
  • Reckless driving
  • Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Fail to stop & give information/render aid
  • Any offense committed in a construction zone with men working
  • Any offense committed while driving a commercial vehicle, other than parking, vehicle weight, or vehicle defect violations
If you qualify and wish to take a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course for ticket dismissal, you must submit your request either in person or by mail or fax before the appearance date on your citation. You may use the Municipal Court Plea Form to submit your request. The court will mail the appropriate forms to you after your request is received. For more information, contact the court at 409-737-1142.
Links:
Approved Driving Safety Course Providers
Approved Motorcyle Operator Training Course Centers
To Request Your Driver Record Online
Deferred Disposition
Deferred disposition is a form of probation that may be available to eligible defendants upon recommendation by the prosecutor or at the sole discretion of the court. (Defendants who hold a commercial driver's license are not eligible for deferred disposition.) If the period of probation is completed by the defendant without any violation of the conditions of the probation, the charge will be dismissed and no record of conviction will result. During the deferral period, defendants under 25 years of age must complete a driving safety course approved by the Texas Education Agency. Defendants with a provisional license must be examined by the Department of Public Safety, regardless of whether the defendant was examined previously.
If you wish to see if you are eligible for deferred disposition or if you need additional information, please call 409-737-1142. You may use the municipal court plea form to submit your request for deferred disposition.
Time Payment Schedule
An installment agreement for the payment of court costs, fines and fees may be granted by the judge. If the balance due is not paid in full within 30 days, a time pay fee will automatically be added. Requests for time payment schedules must be made in writing by the appearance date on the citation, and can be submitted in person or by way of mail or fax.
Payments
Court costs, fines and fees may be paid in person by cash, check, money order, or credit card. Payments by mail should be made payable to the Jamaica Beach Municipal Court and can be mailed to:
Jamaica Beach Municipal Court
5264 Jamaica Beach
Jamaica Beach, TX 77554
You may use the Municipal Court Plea Form to submit your plea and payment. Please DO NOT mail cash.
Additional Information
If you need any additional information, please contact Georgia Marshall at 409-737-1142 (Monday-Thursday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.).
Back to Departments Page
 
JB Otherpage Basic